God is Good #244

1 Truly God is good to Israel, to such as are pure in heart. 2 But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled; My steps had nearly slipped. 3 For I was envious of the boastful, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked. (Psalm 73:1-3)

God’s goodness toward the pure in heart is a tonic of prevention against envying the wicked. Seeing the prosperity of wicked people can tempt Christians to believe the benefit of sin is greater than the blessings of faithfulness to God. But, the prosperity of the wicked is only temporary, and afterwards comes destruction (Psa. 73:17-20). Keep your spiritual footing by learning to be content. Do that by trusting the Lord and following God’s word: “You will guide me with Your counsel, and afterward receive me to glory” (Psa. 73:24).

Leave a Reply

