On You I Wait #269

4  Show me Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths. 5  Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; On You I wait all the day. 6  Remember, O LORD, Your tender mercies and Your lovingkindnesses, for they are from of old. (Psalm 25:4-6)

What does it mean to “wait” on the Lord? It does not mean sitting idly by “expecting a miracle” (as some TV prophets promise). It does not mean running ahead of God, presuming we know the path we should take (Jer. 10:23). Waiting on the Lord involves learning His ways and walking in His truth. He is the God who saves, so the faithful ones rely on Him. It involves endurance to patiently follow His truth, assured that God will accomplish His purposes in His time. God has shown Himself to be compassionate and merciful from days of old. Therefore, wait on Him. Learn His truth and walk in His paths each day. Do not forget God; He has not forgotten you.

Leave a Reply

